Lightening Soul, Renewing Life – Psychological Healing Support Services for Ex-drug Abusers and Their Family Members

Philosophy

Many drug abusers and their family members have, to varying degrees, experience trauma. For instance, many drug abusers say their drug use is a means to cope with the pain of trauma. They are trapped in the vicious cycle of rehab-relapse as they continue to struggle with the long-lasting impact of trauma.

Meanwhile, affected family members often have their own emotional wounds to deal with, apart from handling the impact of drug-related problems at home. In many cases, there will be a communication breakdown between family members and drug abusers, leading to broken relationships and disturbances in family functioning that could have an adverse effect on rehabilitation in the long run.

Funded by Beat Drugs Fund Association, we launch the “Lightning Soul, Renewing Life – Psychological Healing Support Services for Ex-drug Abusers and Their Family Members” from 2018 to 2020. Through therapy group treatments, the project helps drug abusers and their family members to learn more about the relationship between trauma and drug use, so as to have a better understanding of the long-lasting effects of physical or emotional wounds brought about by trauma. Participants are also equipped with knowledge and skills to handle the aftereffects of trauma for long-term and stable rehabilitation.

Objective

Enhance the awareness of drug abusers and affected family members of the aftereffects of trauma and their connections with drug use, equip them with effective means to mitigate the impact of trauma, so as to facilitate long-term and stable rehabilitation.

Content

1. Trauma workshops

helping drug abusers and affected family members to have preliminary understanding of the connection between trauma, coping behavior and drug use;

2. Trauma Therapeutic Groups

Three stages of group treatment include:

Stage One:

Understanding what is trauma, and how does it affect drug use and coping
behavior;

Stage Two:

Understanding the physical and mental impact of trauma, as well as learning alternative techniques (e.g. grounding) to regulate and mitigate the impact; and

Stage Three:

Building mutual trust and utilizing group dynamics to help participants
to handle negative feelings such as helplessness, solitude and shame, so as to facilitate growth and transformation.

3. Trauma-informed casework

We provide drug abusers affected by trauma with trauma-informed counseling to mitigate its adverse impact. Through counseling, client will have deeper understanding of the relationship between trauma and drug use, and will also explore alternative mechanism of coping to facilitate rehabilitation.

4. Publication, Short Films and Conference

We share our practice wisdom and knowledge of trauma-informed interventions with the social welfare sector and the public through publications and promotional videos. A conference will be held in June 2020, inviting stakeholders, academics and helping professionals to share their firsthand and frontline experience about drug addiction and trauma.

Please click here to download service leaflet.

「新心靈·新生命」戒毒者及家人心靈療癒支援計劃

理念

明愛樂協會發現戒毒者及其家人曾經歷不同程度的創傷。例如:吸毒者表示自己遭逢創傷後,希望以毒品麻醉痛苦的感覺。因未能處理創傷所帶來的負面影響,結果陷入戒毒後又復吸的循環。

同時,不少戒毒者的家人在面對至親的吸毒問題時,亦承受着對方或自身的創傷經歷的影響,不但為身陷情緒的囹圄,亦未能和戒毒者有效溝通協作,最終導致家庭關係失效甚至破裂,對長遠康復造成負面影響。

本會成功申請禁毒基金資助,於2018至2020年間舉辦為期兩年的「新心靈·新生命」戒毒者及家人心靈療癒支援計劃。計劃透過創傷治療小組,協助戒毒者及其家人了解創傷經歷與吸毒行為之間的關連,加深認識創傷所帶來的身心靈影響,並鼓勵他們學習及採用有效的方式處理問題,促進戒毒者長久穩定地康復。

目的

協助戒毒者及其家人了解創傷與吸毒問題的關連,鼓勵以有效的方式處理創傷所帶來的影響,從而推動長久而穩定的康復。

內容

1. 創傷工作坊

我們舉行創傷工作坊,協助戒毒者及其家人初步了解創傷事件與吸毒行為的關係,明白事件對他們造成的影響。

2. 創傷治療小組

我們為戒毒者及其家人提供三階段的小組服務:

第一階段:

進一步認識什麼是創傷經歷,了解創傷、自身和吸毒行為之間的關係,提高對創傷經歷的敏感度。

第二階段:

理解創傷對自己身心靈及家庭的影響,學習不同技巧 (如靜心練習 [Grounding] 等),調節和控制由創傷所引發的負面影響。

第三階段:

促進轉化過程,建立互信,以小組動力 (Group Dynamic) 幫助組員了解過去創傷所帶來的負面感覺,如無力感、孤獨、無助及羞恥等,並促進組員互助,建立正面經驗,從而轉化成長。

3. 創傷個案輔導服務

我們會以個案輔導協助戒毒者處理創傷所帶來的影響。輔導過程中,當事人可認識創傷與吸毒行為的關係,學習處理創傷經歷對自身負面影響,鞏固康復的過程。

此外,我們亦為家人提供創傷個案輔導服務,協助他們認識至親和自身創傷經歷為個人及家庭帶來的影響,以提升家庭功能以協助戒毒者穩定康復。

4. 出版書籍、製作創傷短片及舉辦研討會

我們編寫和出版創傷服務的經驗分享集,向公眾及業界分享計劃內容及服務經驗。我們更將於2020年6月舉辦《「傷·連」 – 從傷痛經歷中與己相連研討會》,推動戒毒業界關注及認識創傷與吸毒之間的關係,分享相關前線工作經驗。

按此下載計劃單張。